Sparrows Point High Student Wins County Athletic Award

Nathan Wynne of Sparrows Point High School has been named the male winner of the 33rd annual Mildred Murray All Academic Scholar Athlete Award and Scholarship.

Wynne played varsity soccer for three years and varsity tennis for four years at Sparrows Point. His soccer coaches selected him as the recipient of the school’s sportsmanship award during his junior year. In his senior year, he was named captain of both teams, both of which won state championships.
During high school, Wynne volunteered for The Outreach Program for Soccer (TOPSoccer), which provides soccer instruction to individuals with physical and/or mental disabilities.

In Grade 10, he was chosen as the sole ambassador from Sparrows Point High to attend the Hugh O’Brian Youth Leadership Conference. In addition, he serves as the treasurer of the National Honor Society. During his junior and senior years, he completed many courses at the Community College of Baltimore County, and he has maintained a 4.0 unweighted GPA throughout high school.

Wynne will attend the University of Maryland, College Park, in the fall to study aerospace engineering and participate in the University Honors program.

The annual countywide scholar-athlete award is named in honor of the late Mildred H. Murray, former BCPS coordinator of physical education and athletics. She dedicated 43 years to promoting excellence in athletics and academics throughout the county, region, and state, and she helped establish the annual scholar-athlete award.

Sierra Raspa of George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology was named the female winner.

Presented by the BCPS Office of Athletics, the prestigious honors will be awarded during an online ceremony on Thursday, June 4, at 1 p.m.

The scholarships are given to female and male senior student-athletes who have maintained a minimum 3.5 unweighted grade point average (GPA) for each quarter and have participated in at least two varsity sports. Each BCPS high school nominates seniors for this honor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *