Three Eastside Teachers Among Five Finalists for BCPS Teacher of Year

Five Baltimore County Public Schools educators have been named finalists for 2020-21 BCPS Teacher of the Year. Three of those educators are from eastern Baltimore County.

Bianca Crockett is a kindergarten teacher at Battle Grove Elementary. She serves on her school’s leadership committee and is also the equity team leader. This year, she presented at the BCPS Leadership Summit for Young Women in High School and the Maryland Cultural Proficiency Conference. She is in her fifth year at Battle Grove and her 10th year overall as an educator.

Claudia Enders is a special education teacher at Charlesmont Elementary
. She works with some of the school’s youngest learners, who are just 3- and 4-years old. Enders leads Charlesmont’s environmental club. She recently partnered with the Baltimore County Police Department to ensure that her students could build a rapport. She is in her third year at Charlesmont and her 13th as a teacher.

Robert Runk is a special education teacher at Parkville Middle. He also served as a paraeducator there. He leads a mentorship program for male students at Parkville Middle and leads a martial arts program through the Parkville Recreational Program. He has worked for 17 years at Parkville Middle in various roles and is in his sixth year there as a teacher. He is a Sparrows Point High graduate.

Amara Griffin of Lansdowne Elementary and New Town High science department chair Taylor Ransome are the other two nominees.

“All of these dedicated educators go above and beyond for their students,” BCPS Superintendent Dr. Darryl L. Williams said. “In addition to being exemplary teachers, they are making a true difference in their school communities.”

One of the finalists will be named 2020-21 BCPS Teacher of the Year and will be Baltimore County’s Maryland Teacher of the Year representative.

Principals at the 175 BCPS schools, programs, and centers could nominate one educator for BCPS Teacher of the Year. Nominations were received from 165 schools and all nominees are featured on the Team BCPS blog.

The BCPS Teacher of the Year selection committee, comprised of administrators, teachers, students, and staff, selected the five finalists.

Past BCPS teachers of the year include:
2019: Kristen Nielsen, Crossroads Center
2018: Brendan Penn, Lyons Mill Elementary
2017: Rebecca Eig, Owings Mills Elementary
2016: Corey Carter, Northwest Academy of Life Science
2015: Orly Mondell, New Town High
2014: Anne Cross, Gunpowder Elementary
2013: Sean McComb, Patapsco High & Center for the Arts, the 2014 National Teacher of the Year

Robert Runk
Claudia Enders
Bianca Crockett

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *