BCPS Student and Staff Recognitions From First Half of Year

As Baltimore County Public Schools an unprecedented transition to distance learning during the mandated school closure, the school system continues to celebrate state, regional, and national recognitions from the third quarter ending March 31.

Student and staff recognitions at the national and state levels are highlighted below, adding to achievements from the first and second quarters of the school year. Here is a look back at those honors.

•The 31st Annual Maryland Public High School Dance Showcase involved 10 students from five high schools, including Patapsco and Perry Hall.

•The 8th Annual Maryland Dance Alliance involved students from eight high schools including Parkville and Patapsco.

•Students earned 343 Regional Scholastic Awards for 2020 including 24 Gold Keys in visual arts and 17 in writing.

•The Deep Creek Middle Drama Club and Sarah Nelson (Dulaney High) were named two of the six honorees in the 2020 Young Playwrights Festival presented by Baltimore Center Stage.

•Student leaders Sean Davis (Chesapeake) and Carmelli Leal (Eastern Technical) were featured speakers on a panel at the Champion Our Children Forum at the National School Board Association’s Advocacy Institute.

Josh Hunt (Kenwood High) is one of just 200 Air Force Junior ROTC cadets worldwide to earn a Chief of Staff Private Pilot Scholarship from Headquarters Air Force Junior ROTC.

Amanda Nwokoro (Eastern Technical High) earned first place in a regional Brain Bee held at Stevenson University and has qualified to compete in the 2020 USA Brain Bee Championship.

•Fourteen BCPS students competed in the inaugural MPSSAA Girls State Wrestling Championships, including two Dundalk High students

Casey Lane (English teacher, Deep Creek Middle) achieved National Board Certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards. Her new designation brings the total number of National Board-certified teachers in Baltimore County Public Schools to 140.

Anthony V. Carter, Jr. (career and technical education department chair, Middle River Middle) was selected as a 2019–20 Teacher Fellow in the Northrop Grumman Foundation Teachers Academy.

•Two staff earned recognition from the Maryland Society for Education Technology: Stacy Barry (resource teacher, Innovation and Digital Safety) was named 2020 Maryland Outstanding Leader Using Technology, and Kimberly Burton-Regulski (mathematics department chair, Eastern Technical) was named 2020 Maryland Outstanding Educator.

•Robert M. Ball was named the Most Inclusive Public School Minority Business Enterprise Outreach Liaison of the Year by the Maryland Washington Minority Companies Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *