Sparrows Point HS Teacher Nominated Teacher of the Year

Kristine Saja, a science/special education teacher at Sparrows Point High School, is one of four educators from across Baltimore County as this year’s finalists for the BCPS Teacher of the Year.

The four finalists are among two high schools, a middle school, and an elementary school educators and were chosen from among 157 school teacher of the year nominees by a committee composed of BCPS administrators, staff, students, TABCO representation and current BCPS Teacher of the Year Robert Runk.

Stephanie Lawrence of Milford Mill Academy, Sheri Metzbower, of Carroll Manor Elementary School and Brianna Ross, a history teacher at Deer Park Middle Magnet School, are the other three BCPS nominees.

Saja has spent 11 of her 14 years at Sparrows Point. Certified in biology, chemistry, and special education, she has also taught mathematics in Harford County.

Saying she is an eternal optimist, Saja helped to begin a student-led Student Racial Justice Alliance at SPHS and has immersed herself in a variety of school activities ranging from curriculum writing to sponsoring the school’s LBGT club to leading a team to create the school’s motto and vision.