BCPS Students Honored at Career & Tech Event

In heartfelt videos, six Baltimore County Public Schools graduating seniors shared their appreciation recently for teachers, internships, and courses that gave them a head start on careers in their fields of interest.

These videos are the centerpiece of the 47th Annual Career and Technical Education (CTE) Student Recognition Ceremony, which was held online this year and is available for viewing. During the ceremony, more than 130 seniors from across the county were recognized by their teachers as exemplary students. Each of these students will receive a $100 Anthony G. Marchione Award for Excellence.

The student perspective videos featured Christine Anyalewechi, Eastern Technical High School; Lucas LaBuff, George Washington Carver Center for Arts and Technology; Ari Montoya, Perry Hall High School; Josue Portillo, Dundalk High School; Hannah Pullifrone, Parkville High School; and Danielle Szikman, Franklin High School.

The ceremony began with remarks from Superintendent Dr. Darryl L. Williams acknowledging the unique challenges the Class of 2021 has faced and its success in persevering. “The pandemic has allowed our students to develop an even broader set of life skills, including problem solving and adapting to challenges,” Supt. Williams said. “These skills and knowledge across the subject areas are foundational to CTE success.”

Other speakers included Douglas Handy, director of CTE & Fine Arts; Dr. Michael Grubbs, CTE coordinator; Ken Guttman, chair of the CTE Advisory Council (CTEAC) and a graduate of Loch Raven High School; and Emilie Cherry, director of high school collaboration for CCBC.

The ceremony was hosted by CTEAC in conjunction with the Office of Career and Technical Education and in partnership with The Education Foundation of Baltimore County Public Schools.

CTE provides students an opportunity to pursue a sequential technical and academic program of study leading to advancement in a career field. High school CTE programs give students the opportunity to transition smoothly into postsecondary education and to earn college credit and/or industry credentials in a career field of interest.

Eastern Baltimore County Students honored in the ceremony were:

Chesapeake High
Oluwajuwon “Juwon” Mobolaji, Advanced Technology Education
Josiah Berkeridge, Apprenticeship Maryland (JATC24)
Kayla Thompson, Business Management and Finance
Chinedu Chukwu, College-Career Research and Development, Chick-fil-A
Chelsea Gilbow, Criminal Justice Technology
Jaden Matthews, Information Technology: Computer Science & Interactive Media Production
Cameron Rishel, JROTC – Marine Corps
Cameron Graves, Project Lead The Way: Engineering, Berry Global

Dundalk High

Chahat Kumari, Business Management and Finance
Heaven Trembly, College-Career Research and Development, Boulevard Diner
Alexcia Sellers, Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness, CCBC Dundalk Cohort
Josue Portillo, Interactive Media Production, Dundalk High School
Kayla Kaczorowski, JROTC- Navy, IHOP Diner

Eastern Technical High
Christina Anyalewechi, Academy of Health Professions
Thomas Pelle, Building and Construction Technology, Blake Canfield and Sons
Dorrian Jackson, Culinary Arts and Restaurant Management
Scott C. Sessa, Jr., Engineering Careers
Nathan Dow, Information Technology: Networking, Baltimore County Public Schools
Rosemarie Crame, Interactive Media Production
Mikaela Barbagallo, Teacher Academy of Maryland, Seven Oaks Elementary School

Kenwood High
Nicholas Vergara, Advanced Technology Education
Olayemisi Harleston, Child Care Services, So’Unique Kids Daycare
Janine Lee, College-Career Research and Development, USA Beauty Supply
Madison Keller, Graphic/Print Communications Technology
DeAndre McKenzie, Information Technology: Computer Science
Brooke E. Hartman, JROTC- Air Force
Devont’e Wilson, Mechanical Construction/Plumbing Careers

Overlea High
Nasir Perry, Advanced Technology Education
Kaleb Minassie, Business Management and Finance, Kohl’s
Aaliyah Moore, College-Career Research and Development, Wing Stop
Lori Asia Braxton, ProStart/Nutrition and Food Science Associate, Overlea High School

Parkville High
Hannah Pullifrone, Child Care Services, Active Minds Learning Camp
Taylor Malatesta, College-Career Research and Development, Casa Mia’s White Marsh
Gianna Delorso, Interactive Media Production
Zachary T. Packer, JROTC- Marine Corps, The Y in Central Maryland
Ja’Quelah Johnson, Project Lead The Way: Engineering
Simran Singh, Teacher Academy of Maryland, Carney Elementary School

Patapsco High
Austin Tress, Business Management and Finance
Kara Ewing, Child Care Services
Blake Johnson, College-Career Research and Development, Texas Roadhouse
Kaitlyn Somerville, JROTC- Army

Perry Hall High
Georgiana Banach, Business Management and Finance
Kyle Jay Horner, Carpentry Careers
Joshua Horner, Information Technology: Computer Science, Avid Technology Professionals
Ari Montoya, Project Lead The Way: Biomedical Sciences, Kingsville Volunteer Fire Company

Sollers Point Technical High
Imran Naseem, Academy of Health Professions, CVS
Sulyvan Esparza-Ramirez, Automotive Service Technology, Heritage Honda
Jacob Kommalan, Building and Construction Technology
Rylee Wissinger, Cosmetology Careers
Dakota Finiff, Culinary Arts and Restaurant Management, Weis Supermarket
Sandra Keyes, Culinary Arts: Baking and Pastry, Joanna’s Cafe
Nicholas Dernoga, Information Technology: Computer Science
Sylvil Blake, Information Technology: Networking, Pappas Smokehouse and Saloon
Kaitlyn Ross, Project Lead The Way: Biomedical Sciences

Sparrows Point High
Amanda Frazier, Business Management and Finance
Trent Harcum, College-Career Research and Development, McDonalds
Keith Starr, Construction Design and Management
Nicholas Buxenstein, Information Technology: Computer Science